RACE PREVIEW: JANUARY 13, 14 & 15

RACE PREVIEW: JANUARY 13, 14 & 15

Photo Caption GEPA/ Marcus Harmann

Calgary, Alta. (January 10, 2017) – The para-alpine and ski cross teams are back on the World Cup circuit after a break over the holidays and the alpine speed teams are gearing up for the heart of the speed season. The Alpine Canada teams can be found throughout Europe, gearing up to kick off another weekend of racing. 

CANADIAN ALPINE SKI TEAM

The men’s speed team is in Wengen (SUI) for one of the most iconic speed races on the World Cup tour. The 87th Lauberhorn races will take place this weekend with an alpine combined on Friday, the downhill Saturday and a slalom race Sunday. When run at full length, the Lauberhorn is the longest downhill track on the Audi FIS World Cup alpine circuit, coming in a 4.48 km. It is estimated that 30,000 race fans will cheer on the racers this weekend in Wengen. 

Be sure to check the CBC broadcast schedule below to catch the men in action this weekend. 

The ladies’ team will be racing in Altenmarkt-Zauchense (AUT) for a downhill race Saturday, followed by an alpine combined race Sunday. Canada’s young speed team will be looking for more World Cup points in both races. Quebec’s Marie-Michèle Gagnon has won two alpine combined races in her career, including last season at Soldeu (AND). 

Full schedule here

WENGEN ROSTER

Phil Brown

Erik Guay

Manuel Osborne-Paradis

Trevor Philp

Ben Thomsen 

Broderick Thompson

Tyler Werry

ALTENMARKT-ZAUCHENSE ROSTER

Candace Crawford

Valérie Grenier

Marie-Michèle Gagnon

CANADA SKI CROSS

With the Audi FIS Ski Cross World Cup Cross Alps Tour wrapped before the holidays, the rest of the World Cup tour continues on. Marielle Thompson heads into the remainder of the season on the top of the women’s leaderboard with a substantial lead. 

This weekend, the team is racing a double-header in Watles (ITA). The Saturday race is replacing the January 22, 2017 Megeve (FRA) race which was cancelled due to poor weather conditions. Check out the CBC broadcast schedule below to catch the Sunday race on CBC’s Road to the Olympic Games. 

Full schedule here

WATLES ROSTER

Britt Phelan

Georgia Simmerling

Marielle Thompson

Ian Deans

Chris Del Bosco

Kevin Drury

Dave Duncan

Brady Leman

Kris Mahler

CBC BROADCAST SCHEDULE

Saturday, January 14, 2017

13:00 MST/ 15:00 EST – Road to the Olympic Games – Men’s Wengen Downhill 

Sunday, January 15, 2017

11:00 MST/ 13:00 EST – Road to the Olympic Games – Men’s Slalom 

12:00PM / 14:00 EST – Road to the Olympic Games – Watles Ski Cross

CBC LIVE STREAM SCHEDULE

Friday, January 13, 2017 

2:30 MST/ 4:30 EST – Men’s Wengen Alpine Combined

Saturday, January 14, 2017 

4:30 MST/ 6:30 EST – Men’s Wengen Downhill

Sunday, January 15, 2016

2:30 MST/ 4:30 EST – 1st Run Wengen Men’s Slalom

3:00 MST/ 5:00 EST – Watles Ski Cross 

5:30 MST/ 7:30 EST – 2nd Run Wengen Slalom

CANADIAN PARA-ALPINE SKI TEAM

The Canadian Para-Alpine Ski Team is buckling down for a big block of races which includes two downhill’s, a super combined and two super-G races. The team will be racing in Innerkrems (AUT) with the first race kicking off on January 11th. The team has amassed nine World Cup podiums so far this season and will be looking to add even more hardware to the trophy case. 

Full schedule here

INNERKREMS ROSTER 

Erin Latimer

Alana Ramsay

Alexis Guidmond

Braydon Luscombe

Mac Marcoux (guide: Jack Leitch)

Kirk Schornstein 

Kurt Oatway

ABOUT ALPINE CANADA

Alpine Canada is the national governing body for alpine, para-alpine and ski cross racing in Canada. With the support of valued corporate partners along with the Government of Canada, Own the Podium and the Canadian Olympic Committee, Alpine Canada develops Olympic, Paralympic, world championship and World Cup medallists to stimulate visibility, inspiration and growth in the ski community.

  • http://www.sportchek.ca/
  • http://www.audi.ca/
  • https://www.mackenzieinvestments.com/
  • https://solace.com/
  • http://www.hellyhansen.com/
  • https://www.cibc.com

© 2017 Alpine CanadaSite by They

Search Our Site

×