RACE PREVIEW: JANUARY 27-29

RACE PREVIEW: JANUARY 27-29

Photo Caption GEPA

Calgary, Alta. (January 26, 2017) – This is the final weekend of alpine races before the 2017 World Alpine Skiing Championships. The men’s team will be racing in Garmisch (GER) and the women’s teams will be in Cortina (ITA). Catch both the men’s and women’s downhill races live on cbcsports.ca. 

The men’s team is in Garmisch (GER) running two downhill races and a giant slalom race. The cancelled Wengen (SUI) downhill is being made up this weekend in Garmisch. Erik Guay has landed a first-place and second-place finish on this track and will be hunting for his second podium of the season. Ben Thomsen ran his first race of the season in Kitzbühel (AUT) last weekend and is hungry for a top-ten finish. 

On the giant slalom side, Erik Read has been collecting personal-best after personal-best finishes this season. Read’s career-best giant slalom result is an eighth-place finish in Val d’Isere (FRA). 

Canada’s aspiring young ladies speed stars will be racing in Cortina (ITA), putting down a downhill on Saturday, followed by a super-G on Sunday. Valérie Grenier has cracked the top 30 in both disciplines and Candace Crawford will be looking for more experience with World Cup speed starts. 

Full schedule here.    

GARMISCH ROSTER

Phil Brown

Dustin Cook

Jeffrey Frisch

Erik Guay

Manuel Osborne-Paradis

Erik Read

Trevor Philp

Ben Thomsen 

Broderick Thompson

CORTINA ROSTER

Candace Crawford

Valérie Grenier

BROADCAST SCHEDULE

Friday, January 27, 2017

5:00 MST/ 7:00 EST – LIVE stream at cbcsports.ca – Men’s Garmisch Downhill

Saturday, January 28, 2017 

2:30 MST/ 4:30 EST - LIVE stream at cbcsports.ca – Women’s Cortina Downhill

4:00 MST/ 6:00 EST - LIVE stream at cbcsports.ca – Men’s Garmisch Downhill

1:00 MST/ 3:00 EST – Road to the Olympic Games – Men’s Garmisch Downhill

ABOUT ALPINE CANADA

Alpine Canada is the national governing body for alpine, para-alpine and ski cross racing in Canada. With the support of valued corporate partners along with the Government of Canada, Own the Podium and the Canadian Olympic Committee, Alpine Canada develops Olympic, Paralympic, world championship and World Cup medallists to stimulate visibility, inspiration and growth in the ski community.

  • http://www.sportchek.ca/
  • http://www.audi.ca/
  • https://www.mackenzieinvestments.com/
  • https://solace.com/
  • http://www.hellyhansen.com/
  • https://www.cibc.com

© 2017 Alpine CanadaSite by They

Search Our Site

×