RACE PREVIEW: JANUARY 7 & 8, 2017

RACE PREVIEW: JANUARY 7 & 8, 2017

Photo Caption GEPA

Calgary, Alta. (January 5, 2017) – The Canadian Alpine Ski Teams are in action this weekend with the men and women’s tech athletes competing in giant slalom and slalom races. The women will race in Maribor (SLO) and the men will be in Adelboden (SUI).

With top ten results on the women’s side, expectations for continued performance will be high. Marie-Michèle Gagnon and Erin Mielzynski have both scored top ten finishes in tech disciplines this season. Canada’s young Valérie Grenier, who has proven she has both speed and technical skills by scoring points in every discipline this season, will be looking to capitalize on her chances this weekend. Following the weekend races, the women will move to Flachau (AUT) for a slalom race where Candace Crawford will sync back up with the World Cup team after a crash sidelined her for a few races. 

Erik Read put down a smoking hot slalom run in the Santa Caterina (ITA) alpine combined, finishing with the second-fastest slalom time in the field. He’ll be looking to put together two great runs to take a career-first World Cup top ten in slalom. Read has been on fire this year scooping up four personal-best finishes since the start of the season, including two top-ten finishes in giant slalom.  Trevor Philp and Phil Brown will also be racing this weekend and looking for their first tech points of the season. 

Full schedule here

MARIBOR (SLO) ROSTER    

Marie-Michèle Gagnon

Valérie Grenier

Erin Mielzynski

ADELBODEN (SUI) ROSTER    

Phil Brown

Erik Read

Trevor Philp

FLACHAU (AUT) ROSTER

Candace Crawford

Marie-Michèle Gagnon

Valérie Grenier

Erin Mielzynski

CBC BROADCAST SCHEDULE

Sunday, January 8

13:00 MST/ 15:00 EST – Adelboden Men’s Slalom 

CBC LIVE STREAM SCHEDULE

Saturday, January 7 

2:30 MST/ 4:30 EST – 1st Run – Adelboden Men’s Giant Slalom

5:30 MST/ 7:30 AM – 2nd Run – Adelboden Men’s Giant Slalom

Sunday, January 8

1:15 MST / 3:15 EST – 1st Run Maribor Women’s Slalom

2:15 MST/ 4:15 EST – 1st Run Adelboden Men’s Slalom

4:15 MST/ 6:15 EST – 2nd Run Maribor Women’s Slalom

5:15 MST/ 7:15 EST – 2nd Run Adelboden Men’s Slalom

Full CBC schedule available here

ABOUT ALPINE CANADA

Alpine Canada is the national governing body for alpine, para-alpine and ski cross racing in Canada. With the support of valued corporate partners along with the Government of Canada, Own the Podium and the Canadian Olympic Committee, Alpine Canada develops Olympic, Paralympic, world championship and World Cup medallists to stimulate visibility, inspiration and growth in the ski community.

  • http://www.sportchek.ca/
  • http://www.audi.ca/
  • https://www.mackenzieinvestments.com/
  • https://solace.com/
  • http://www.hellyhansen.com/
  • https://www.cibc.com

© 2017 Alpine CanadaSite by They

Search Our Site

×