WEEKEND ADVISORY – DECEMBER 2 – 4, 2016

WEEKEND ADVISORY – DECEMBER 2 – 4, 2016

Photo Caption Photo: GEPA

Calgary, Alta. (November 29, 2016) – The FIS Alpine Ski World Cup is in full swing with both the men and women’s teams in action this weekend. The women are at Lake Louise for three speed events.

The men’s tech and speed teams are together at Val d’Isère for three days of events, kicking off Friday.   

VAL D’ISERE FIS ALPINE SKI WORLD CUP

The men’s World Cup speed athletes have had a tough start to the season with two cancelled races postponing their season, including last weekend’s Lake Louise season opener. The Beaver Creek races were also cancelled due to warm temperatures and relocated to Val d’Ière, France. Athletes are itching to push out of the start gate and get the season underway! 

The Val d’Isère line up includes three days of excitement starting with a super-G on Friday, a downhill on Saturday and finishing off with the tech athletes swooping in for a giant slalom on Sunday. 

In case you missed it, Dustin Cook is back and hungry to pick up where he left off at the end of 2015 before a season-ending injury. Canada’s most decorated male, alpine athlete, Erik Guay, will start plugging away at his hunt for hardware and Canadian Cowboy, Manuel Osborne-Paradis, has made an equipment switch over to HEAD and will be battling for the podium.  Canadian Cowboy Ben Thomsen continues his rehabilitation and back-to-snow programming with positive reviews from his first days back on snow while training at Nakiska, AB.

Tech athletes Trevor Philp and Phil Brown will be in action Sunday for the giant slalom race looking for their first points of the season. In 2015, Philp skied to an 18th-place finish on the Val d’Isère giant slalom track. 

VAL D’ISÈRE ROSTER

Phil Brown

Dustin Cook

Erik Guay

Manuel Osborne-Paradis

Trevor Philp

Erik Read 

LAKE LOUISE ROSTER

Candace Crawford

Valérie Grenier

Mikaela Tommy

Stefanie Fleckenstein

DATES AND START TIMES

Friday, December 2, 2016

Ladies’ Downhill – 20:30CET / 12:30PM MST

Men’s Super G – 12:00pm CET/ 4:00am MST

 Saturday, December 3, 2016

Ladies’ Downhill – 20:30CET / 12:30PM MST

Men’s Downhill – 10:45am CET/ 2:45am MST

Sunday, December 4, 2016

Ladies’ Super G – 19:00 / 11:00AM MST

Men’s Giant Slalom 1st Run – 10:00am CET/ 2:00am MST

Men’s Giant Slalom 2nd Run – 1:00pm CET/  5:00am MST

  • http://www.sportchek.ca/
  • http://www.audi.ca/
  • https://www.mackenzieinvestments.com/
  • https://solace.com/
  • http://www.hellyhansen.com/
  • https://www.cibc.com

© 2017 Alpine CanadaSite by They

Search Our Site

×