WEEKEND ADVISORY – DECEMBER 9-11 & 13

WEEKEND ADVISORY – DECEMBER 9-11 & 13

Photo Caption GEPA

Calgary, Alta. (December 7, 2016) – They’re the number one team in the world and they’re ready to launch out of the start gate and onto a track with big features, fast speeds and great flow. Canada Ski Cross is finally back in action this weekend, kicking off the 2016-17 Audi FIS Ski Cross World Cup tour on Friday. On the alpine side, the men and women’s tech teams are linking tight turns for a giant slalom race Saturday and slalom race Sunday. 

All race details are below. 

CANADA SKI CROSS

The ski cross season opener is in Val Thorens, France with a double-header race on Friday and Saturday, followed by a race on Tuesday in Arosa, Switzerland. The first race of the season is also the start of the Audi FIS Ski Cross World Cup Cross Alps Tour, which includes six races at four venues in 14 days. 

Wake up early and catch Saturday’s Val Thorens race live stream on cbcsports.ca. 

VAL THORENS ROSTER

Kelsey Serwa

Georgia Simmerling

Brittany Phelan

Marielle Thompson

Chris Del Bosco

Ian Deans

Kevin Drury

Dave Duncan

Ned Ireland

Brady Leman

Kristofor Mahler

CANADIAN ALPINE SKI TEAM

The men’s team is racing in Val d’Isère, France again this weekend. In last weekend’s giant slalom race, Erik Read had a breakthrough result, skiing to a career-best ninth-place finish, a result that hasn’t been achieved in a men’s World Cup giant slalom race since 2009. The women’s team is racing in Sestiere, Italy where Canada’s technical veterans, Marie-Michèle Gagnon and Erin Mielzynski, will be fighting for the podium. Canada’s young Valèrie Grenier will be looking to continue her string of top-30 finishes, looking to rack up more World Cup technical points this season. 

VAL D’ISERE ROSTER

Philip Brown

Trevor Philp

Erik Read

SESTIERE ROSTER

Candace Crawford

Valérie Grenier

Marie-Michèle Gagnon

Erin Mielzynski

Laurence St-Germain

CANADIAN DOWNHILL CHAMPIONSHIPS    

On Friday, December 9th, Lake Louise Ski Resort will hold the downhill National Championships following the Nor-Am Cup downhill races during the week. 

DATES & START TIMES

Friday, December 9

SKI CROSS

13:00 CET/ 7:00 EST

Saturday, December 10, 2016

ALPINE

Men’s giant slalom 1st Run – 9:30 CET/ 3:30 EST

Men’s giant slalom 2nd Run – 12:30 CET/ 6:30 EST

Ladies’ giant slalom 1st Run – 10:30 CET/ 4:30 EST

Ladies’ giant slalom 2nd Run – 13:30 CET/ 7:30 EST

SKI CROSS

11:00 CET/ 5:00 EST

Sunday, December 11, 2016

ALPINE

Men’s slalom 1st Run – 9:30 CET/ 3:30 EST

Men’s slalom 2nd Run – 12:30 CET/ 6:30 EST

Ladies’ slalom 1st Run – 10:30 CET/ 4:30 EST

Ladies’ slalom 2nd Run – 13:30 CET/ 7:30 EST

Tuesday, December 13, 2016

SKI CROSS

20:00 CET/ 2:00 EST

WHERE TO WATCH

Catch the Saturday ski cross race live stream at cbcsports.ca. 

ABOUT ALPINE CANADA

Alpine Canada is the national governing body for alpine, para-alpine and ski cross racing in Canada. With the support of valued corporate partners along with the Government of Canada, Own the Podium and the Canadian Olympic Committee, Alpine Canada develops Olympic, Paralympic, world championship and World Cup medallists to stimulate visibility, inspiration and growth in the ski community.

For further information or press inquiries, please contact Ashley Shantz at ashantz@alpinecanada.org or call (587) 226-3007.

  • http://www.sportchek.ca/
  • http://www.audi.ca/
  • https://www.mackenzieinvestments.com/
  • https://solace.com/
  • http://www.hellyhansen.com/
  • https://www.cibc.com

© 2017 Alpine CanadaSite by They

Search Our Site

×