

Alpine Canada Alpin Annual General & Special Meeting October 27, 2023 – 10 am MDT Zoom Video Conference

Tim Dattels, Chair of Alpine Canada Board, served as chair of the meeting.

Meeting was called to order by the chair at 10:00 am MDT.

1.0 Chair's Welcoming remarks

The Chair opened the meeting at 10 am MDT and thanked the member provinces for joining this year's Annual General Meeting. He welcomed new PTSO board chairs Paul Boskovich and Tim Hilton and extended a thank you to past chairs Libby Smith and John Boudreau for their leadership and contributions to ski racing in Canada.

Tim announced the great news that the Hilary and Galen Weston Foundation has approved an application for a grant of \$1M to Alpine Canada over the next 3 years, specifically geared towards supporting the Alpine Ski Next Gen Training Centre Network — Canada West. This grant will help to close the gap in funding for next gen athletes across Canada.

Tim reminded the members that the key objectives of the meeting were to accept the audited financial statements and appoint auditors for next year; and elect returning directors to the board.

On behalf of the entire board, Tim thanked Vice-Chair Anne-Marie Boucher, Chair of the Governance Committee, Bruce Chapple and Chair of the Finance and Audit Committee, Mark Wiseman for their countless hours on the recently settled Allison Forsyth file which was publicly announced at the beginning of October.

2.0 Roll Call & Determination of Quorum

The Chair reminded the members that only the president/chair of the board of each PTSO is permitted to vote, unless the chair has assigned a proxy to another individual via the proxy form. This is also a reminder that BC, AB, ON, & QC carry 7 votes each with the remaining PTSOs carrying 1 vote each.

Roll call was completed and attendance was as follows:

Members: (* indicates voting on behalf of the Member) Italics indicates Proxy Members

- Graham Cope* (BC)
- Paul Boskovich* (AB)
- Tyler Pochynuk* (SK)
- John Prall* (MB)
- Linsey Ferguson* (ON)
- Tim Hilton* (NS)
- Marianne Plamondon* (QC)
- Matt Jenner* (YT)

ACA Board Members:

- Tim Dattels (Chair, Alpine Canada Board)
- Anne-Marie Boucher (Vice-Chair, Alpine Canada Board and Member, Governance Committee)
- Bruce Chapple (Chair, Alpine Canada Governance Committee)
- Mark Wiseman (Chair, Alpine Canada Finance & Audit Committee)
- Luke Gould (Alpine Canada Board Member)

By Invitation of the Chair:

- Anders Hestdalen (BC Alpine)
- Patrick Gillespie (AB Alpine)
- Patrick Biggs (AOA)
- Carla MacNeill (Ski NB)
- Jocelyn Huot (SQA)
- Therese Brisson (ACA President and CEO)
- Consuelo Zayas (ACA CFO)
- Doris Tanglis (ACA Staff-Minute recorder)

It was confirmed that quorum was met for this AGM.

3.0 Adoption of the Agenda

The Agenda was included with the meeting materials that were circulated on October 6, 2023. The chair requested a motion from Members to accept the Agenda.

- ✓ Motion: Graham Cope
- ✓ Seconded: Linsey Ferguson
- ✓ None opposed, none abstained, motion carried

4.0 Adoption of the Minutes from October 28, 2022 AGM

Minutes of the 2022 AGM were circulated with the meeting materials of October 6. The chair requested a motion from Members to accept the Minutes.

✓ Motion: Matt Jenner

- ✓ Seconded: Graham Cope
- ✓ None opposed, none abstained, motion carried

5.0 Consideration of the Audited Financial Statements for the fiscal year ending April 30, 2023

Consuelo Zayas, CFO for ACA, attended the AGM to give a brief overview of the financials and to address any questions.

There was discussion around the decreased cost to Coach Education vs. previous years which was explained as due to allocating cost to Sport Development and the vacant position in the coach education department in the first third of the fiscal year.

Therese explained that the business model at Lake Louise vs. Tremblant is fundamentally different and ACA is continuing to investigate solutions for a Men's Speed event in western Canada.

Members were reminded that the financial statements were approved by the Board (completed August 23, 2023) and presented to the Members for review. The chair requested a motion from Members to accept the Audited Financial Statements.

- ✓ Motion: Graham Cope
- ✓ Seconded: Matt Jenner
- ✓ None opposed, none abstained, motion carried

6.0 Appointment of Public Accountants/Auditors

As indicated in the Agenda, the Finance Committee unanimously recommended that PricewaterhouseCoopers be re-appointed as Auditors for the 2023-2024 fiscal year. The chair requested a motion to re-appoint PricewaterhouseCoopers as Auditors for the 2023-2024 year as recommended.

- ✓ Motion: Linsey Ferguson
- ✓ Seconded: John Prall
- ✓ None opposed, none abstained, motion carried

7.0 Re-Election of Directors

Bruce Chapple led this segment of the AGM and asked Board Directors Tim Dattels and Mark Wiseman to excuse themselves until after the vote to avoid conflict.

Bruce explained that Blake Hutcheson has reached the end of his committed term and will resgin as a director as of today. The board thanks Blake for his tremendous leadership, engagement and passion on the board and for the organization.

This will take the number of board members down to 15. ACA's by-laws allow for 16 directors to be used on a limited basis as a bridge for future Board vacancies as well as succession and transition reasons. The Governance Committee does not recommend using that limited bridge this year and, instead, recommends that the Board remain at 15 directors.

The terms for 6 directors are expiring: Tim Dattels, Sarah Evans, Erik Guay, Deborah Orida, Darryl White and Mark Wiseman. These were partly four-year terms as part of the plan to enable staggered renewal

when the new board started in October 2019 and three-year terms for Sarah and Deb who joined the board in 2020.

The Governance Committee and Board have enthusiastically recommended that these directors be reelected for a renewal term of three years.

We hope you are as grateful as us that Tim, Sarah, Erik, Deborah, Darryl and Mark are willing to stand for re-election and continue to bring their energy, insight and commitment as directors.

Motion to reelect Tim Dattels, Sarah Evans, Erik Guay, Deborah Orida, Darryl White and Mark Wiseman for a 3 year term:

- ✓ Motion: Linsey Ferguson
- ✓ Seconded: Graham Cope
- ✓ None opposed, none abstained, motion carried

Bruce explained that we are currently working on Terms of Reference for the ACA's Athletes Council to ensure engagement with the board.

8.0 CEO Report

First off, Therese thanked all PTSO members and ACA board members for their support, engagement and leadership in working together to carve a better future for ski racing in Canada.

2022-23 was a historic, record breaking season with 117 Top 8's, 40 WC podiums, 2 World Champions and 7 WCh podiums. ACA grew revenue partnerships by 2x since 2020 and enabled \$2.65MM in funding directly to athletes.

Therese explained ACA's Foundational Principles and Drivers to build on the success of the previous years and provide leadership to deepen our impact and execute on our strategic plan.

9.0 Other business

NONE.

Tim thanked everyone for a good finish to last year and continued partnership in helping to grow ski racing in Canada and our performance internationally. We are proud to be best in class when it comes to Governance in Sport as ranked by Sport Canada and are excited about the next season as we are focused as a board on increasing the funding. We are optimistic about the start of a new Olympic/Paralympic cycle and are very happy to see our community coming together as one Team Canada.

10.0 Adjournment of Annual General Meeting

The chair requested a motion from Members to adjourn the AGM:

- ✓ Motion: John Prall
- ✓ Seconded: Graham Cope
- ✓ None opposed, none abstained, motion carried

Meeting adjourned at 11 am MDT.