Calgary, Alta. (March 20, 2018) – The 2017-18 season is wrapping up at RED Mountain Resort in Rossland, B.C., with the alpine tech and ski cross National Championships. Running March 23 and 24, the Canadian Champion title for slalom, giant slalom and ski cross will be up for grabs.

This year is a historic marker for RED Mountain Resort, celebrating the 50th Anniversary of the first World Cup race held in North America. The race was held in Rossland in 1968 with over 7,000 fans in the finish area. Canada’s Nancy Greene and France’s Jean Claude Killy won the World Cup event, adding to their illustrious career achievements.  

Some of the volunteers that were involved in the 1968 World Cup race will be on the slopes volunteering again for the 2018 National Championships. Former Olympian and Red Mountain Racer, Don Stevens, will be the Chief of Race for the 2018 Sport Chek National Tech Championships and of note, his father, Bill Stevens, was the Chief of Race for the 1968 World Cup at RED.  

The Red Mountain Racers are very excited to be welcoming home Kerrin Lee-Gartner, 1992 Olympic gold medalist in downhill, who continues to inspire athletes from across the country.

“The Red Mountain Racers, RED Mountain and the City of Rossland are incredibly honoured to be hosting the 2018 Sport Chek National Tech Championships and the 2018 Sport Chek Ski Cross National Championships,” said Christine Andison, Director, Planning and Development at RED Mountain Resort. “The town is a buzz as we look forward to welcoming the athletes and in particular our National Team, and to watch some incredible racing!”

RED Mountain Resort and Rossland, B.C., have a very proud history of ski racing dating back to the first National Championships, which were held 120 years ago. As part of the 2018 Sport Chek National Championships, the Rossland Museum will be showcasing the history of ski racing. Many Olympic and National Team Alumni will be in attendance, participating in the organizing and execution of the event.


To view the full alpine schedule, click here.

To view the full ski cross schedule, click here.

Canadian National Team Athletes:

Alpine Men:

Sam Mulligan, Jeff Read, Brodie Seger, Riley Seger, Jack Crawford, Simon Fournier, Morgan Megarry, Trevor Philp, Erik Read  

Alpine Women:

Valerie Grenier, Candace Crawford, Mikaela Tommy, Laurence St.Germain, Stephanie Fleckenstein, Amelia Smart

Ski Cross Women:

Kelsey Serwa, Brittany Phelan, Marielle Thompson (not competing), Alexa Velcic, Mikayla Martin, Tiana Gairns, Zoe Chore, India Sherret, Abby McEwen

Ski Cross Men:

Brady Leman, Kevin Drury, Ian Deans, Dave Duncan, Chris Del Bosco (not competing), Kris Mahler, Zach Belczyk, Ned Ireland


Alpine Canada is the national governing body for alpine, para-alpine and ski cross racing in Canada. With the support of valued corporate partners along with the Government of Canada, Own the Podium and the Canadian Olympic Committee, Alpine Canada develops Olympic, Paralympic, world championship and World Cup medallists to stimulate visibility, inspiration and growth in the ski community.

  • https://www.mackenzieinvestments.com/
  • http://www.hellyhansen.com/
  • https://www.teck.com
  • https://www.redtag.ca

© 2024 Alpine CanadaSite by They

Search Our Site