2020 is in full swing and the Canadian Alpine Ski Team is ready to go!

2020 is in full swing and the Canadian Alpine Ski Team is ready to go!

Photo Caption GEPA

Calgary, AB (January 9, 2020) – Our tech teams are coming off a pair of 11th place finishes in slalom, and are gearing up for another weekend of racing. Laurence St-Germain’s (St. Ferréol-les-Neiges, QC) finished 11th in the slalom event at Zagreb, Croatia and Erik Read’s (Canmore, AB) finished 11th in the slalom event at Madonna di Campiglio, Italy. 

The women’s speed team will be in Altenmarkt-Zauchensee, Austria, this weekend competing in the downhill on Jan. 11th and the alpine combine on Jan 12th. The Alpine Combined is an event that Marie-Michèle Gagnon (Lac-Etchemin, QC) won in 2014 and she looks to do it again this year. Gagnon will be joined by Candace Crawford (Toronto, ON) and Roni Remme (Collingwood, ON) who look to kick 2020 off with a bang. 

687 KM to the west, the men’s teach team will be in action in Adelboden, Switzerland for the giant slalom and slalom. Erik Read is looking to close the gap to the podium, after a strong start to 2020 races.  Trevor Philp (Calgary, AB), who had a season best 7th place finish in Beaver Creek at the end of 2019, will look to keep the speed up. Read and Philp will be joined by Simon Fournier (Montreal, QC), Riley Seger (North Vancouver, BC) and B.C. team member Asher Jordan (North Vancouver, BC). 

The women’s tech team will be back at it from Flachau, Austria on Tuesday, January 14. 

HOW TO WATCH

January 11, 2020 

4:30 a.m. EST / 2:30 a.m. MST – Men’s Giant Slalom Run #1 Adelboden - Stream it live: cbcsports.ca

7:30 a.m. EST / 5:30 a.m. MST – Men’s Giant Slalom Run #2 Adelboden - Stream it live: cbcsports.ca

2:00 p.m. EST / 12:00 p.m. MST – Men’s Giant Slalom Run #2 Adelboden - Watch it on CBC

January 12, 2020 

4:30 a.m. EST / 2:30 a.m. MST – Men’s Slalom Run #1 Adelboden - Stream it live: cbcsports.ca

7:30 a.m. EST / 5:30 a.m. MST – Men’s Slalom Run #2 Adelboden - Stream it live: cbcsports.ca

1:00 p.m. EST / 11:00 a.m. MST – Men’s Slalom Run #2 Adelboden - Watch it on CBC

For a full broadcast schedule, click here: http://alpinecanada.org/schedule                          

###

For more information or media inquiries please contact:
Whitney Hunter I Manager of Communications 
whunter@alpinecanada.org I 403-471-6032 

ABOUT ALPINE CANADA

Alpine Canada is the governing body for alpine, para-alpine and ski cross racing in Canada, as well as for Canadian ski coaches, providing education, certification, insurance and compliance with the coaching code of conduct. With the support of valued corporate partners and donors, along with the Government of Canada, Own the Podium, the Canadian Olympic Committee and the Coaching Association of Canada, Alpine Canada develops Olympic, Paralympic, World Championship and World Cup athletes to stimulate visibility, inspiration and growth in the ski community. In 2020, Alpine Canada will celebrate 100 years of rich tradition in competitive skiing in Canada.

  • https://www.mackenzieinvestments.com/
  • http://www.hellyhansen.com/

© 2020 Alpine CanadaSite by They

Search Our Site

×