Back Across the Pond: FIS Ski World Cup Continues with Another Action Packed Weekend

Back Across the Pond: FIS Ski World Cup Continues with Another Action Packed Weekend

Photo Caption GEPA

Calgary, AB (December 12, 2019) – After a successful North American leg of the FIS World Cup tour the Canadian Alpine Ski Team heads back to Europe for a busy week of races. 

The women’s ski team will begin the weekend in St. Moritz, Switzerland. The team will compete in the super-G on Dec. 14, an event in which Marie Michèle Gagnon (Lac-Etchemin, QC) finished 6th last year. On Dec. 15 the parallel slalom will see Erin Mielzynski (Collingwood, ON) look to better her 7th place finish from one year ago. Gagnon and Mielzynski will be joined by Laurence St-Germain (St. Ferréol-les-Neiges, QC), Candace Crawford (Toronto, ON) and Roni Remme (Collingwood, ON). 

Down the road in Val d’Isère, France the men’s tech team will be back on the slopes this weekend, after a successful stop at the Xfinity Birds of Prey World Cup in Beaver Creek, CO. Erik Read (Canmore, AB), Trevor Philp (Calgary, AB) and Simon Fournier (Montreal, QC) will compete in the slalom and giant slalom races. Read looks to build on his 8th place finish in Val d’Isère in 2016 and Philp looks to keep the pedal on the gas after a great 7th place finish in Beaver Creek last weekend. 

The women’s team will then make a quick trip through the mountains, for a stop in Courchevel, France for the giant slalom on Dec. 17. This is a race the team has historically done well at with a 6th place finish by Marie-Michèle Gagnon in 2013 and an 8th place finish by Erin Mielzynski last year. Candace Crawford will join Mielzynski and Gagnon for her first race on the course.  

HOW TO WATCH

December 14, 2019 

3:30 a.m. EST / 1:30 a.m. MST – Men’s Giant Slalom Run #1 Val d’Isère - Stream it live: cbcsports.ca

4:30 a.m. EST / 2:30 a.m. MST – Women’s Super-G St. Moritz - Stream it live: cbcsports.ca

7:30 a.m. EST / 5:30 a.m. MST – Men’s Giant Slalom Run #2 Val d’Isère - Stream it live: cbcsports.ca

4:00 p.m. EST / 2:00 p.m. MST – Men’s Giant Slalom Run #2 Val d’Isère – Watch it on CBC

For a full broadcast schedule, click here: http://alpinecanada.org/schedule

About Alpine Canada

Alpine Canada is the governing body for alpine, para-alpine and ski cross racing in Canada, as well as for Canadian ski coaches, providing education, certification, insurance and compliance with the coaching code of conduct. With the support of valued corporate partners and donors, along with the Government of Canada, Own the Podium, the Canadian Olympic Committee and the Coaching Association of Canada, Alpine Canada develops Olympic, Paralympic, World Championship and World Cup athletes to stimulate visibility, inspiration and growth in the ski community. In 2020, Alpine Canada will celebrate 100 years of rich tradition in competitive skiing in Canada.

  • http://www.audi.ca/
  • https://www.mackenzieinvestments.com/
  • https://solace.com/
  • http://www.hellyhansen.com/

© 2020 Alpine CanadaSite by They

Search Our Site

×