Canadian ski racing all day and all night

Canadian ski racing all day and all night

Photo Caption GEPA

Calgary, AB (February 20, 2020) –  The Canadian Alpine Ski Team is ready to hit the slopes in Crans Montana, SUI and Niigata Yuzawa Naeba, JPN this weekend. 

The women’s speed team will be busy with three days of racing in Crans Montana. The two downhill races on Friday and Saturday are followed by the alpine combined on Sunday. Last year’s alpine combined saw Roni Remme (Collingwood, ON) stand on the podium, the last Canadian to stand on a World Cup podium. Remme will be joined by Marie-Michèle Gagnon (Lac-Etchemin, QC) and Candace Crawford (Toronto, ON). 

“I’m really excited to get back on the speed skis this weekend, and happy to be back in Crans Montana. It’s a special place for me since it’s where I had my podium, but more than that I really just enjoyed skiing on this track, so I’m excited to kick things off.” shared Remme. 

Further east the men’s tech team will be in Japan for the only World Cup race in Asia this alpine season. Trevor Philp (Calgary, AB) and Erik Read (Canmore, AB) will be racing the giant slalom and slalom at Yuzawa Naeba, JPN. Philp and Read are coming off of 20th and 17th place finishes in the last giant slalom in Garmisch and look to continue to build on the success with two strong days of racing. 

This weekend will bring some great opportunities for both teams and they look to rise to the occasion. After this weekend the men head to Hinterstoder, AUT and the women head to La Thuile, ITA. 

HOW TO WATCH

February 21, 2020 

8:00 p.m. EST / 6:00 p.m. MST – Men’s Giant Slalom 1st Run Yuzawa Naeba - Stream it live: cbcsports.ca

11:00 p.m. EST / 9:00 p.m. MST – Men’s Giant Slalom 2nd Run Yuzawa Naeba - Stream it live: cbcsports.ca

February 22, 2020 

4:30 a.m. EST / 2:30 a.m. MST – Women’s Downhill Crans Montana - Stream it live: cbcsports.ca

For a full broadcast schedule, click here: alpinecanada.org/schedule                                   

###

For more information or media inquiries please contact:
Whitney Hunter I Manager of Communications 
whunter@alpinecanada.org I 403-471-6032 

ABOUT ALPINE CANADA

Alpine Canada is the governing body for alpine, para-alpine and ski cross racing in Canada, as well as for Canadian ski coaches, providing education, certification, insurance and compliance with the coaching code of conduct. With the support of valued corporate partners and donors, along with the Government of Canada, Own the Podium, the Canadian Olympic Committee and the Coaching Association of Canada, Alpine Canada develops Olympic, Paralympic, World Championship and World Cup athletes to stimulate visibility, inspiration and growth in the ski community. In 2020, Alpine Canada celebrates 100 years of rich tradition in competitive skiing in Canada.

  • http://www.audi.ca/
  • https://www.mackenzieinvestments.com/
  • http://www.hellyhansen.com/

© 2020 Alpine CanadaSite by They

Search Our Site

×