It’s the most wonderful time of the year for the Canadian Alpine Ski Team

It’s the most wonderful time of the year for the Canadian Alpine Ski Team

Photo Caption GEPA

Calgary, AB (January 23, 2020) – The Canadian Alpine Ski Team is into the meat of the season and with that comes the most iconic race on the men’s schedule – Kitzbühel. While the men are busy with the 2020 Hahnenkamm Alpine Ski World Cup the women’s tour will be in Bansko, Bulgaria. 

The men’s tour has arrived in Kitzbühel, Austria and with training already underway, the real fun kicks off Friday for the Super G. Brodie Seger (North Vancouver, BC) finished in 33rd at this race in 2019 and looks to find his rhythm again on what is one of the steepest, fastest and most intense races on the tour. 

On Saturday it’s the big show we have all been waiting for, the downhill. A race which has been described as “beautiful chaos” by Canadian team veteran Ben Thomsen (Invermere, BC). Thomsen came in 6th in this very race last year and is aiming even higher this year. 

On Sunday it is the tech team’s turn to tackle Kitzbühel. Erik Read, who had an 11th place finish in Adelboden earlier in January, looks to improve on his 7th place finish in the slalom from 2017. 

Seger, Thomsen and Read will be joined by Jack Crawford (Toronto, ON), Jeff Read (Canmore, AB), Cam Alexander (North Vancouver, BC), Sam Mulligan (Vancouver, BC), Trevor Philp (Calgary, AB), Simon Fournier (Montreal, QC) and BC Team Member Asher Jordan (North Vancouver, BC). 

The women’s tour has made its way to Bansko, Bulgaria and while much of the Canadian Ski Team has come home to North America for the NorAm series in Ontario Marie-Michèle Gagnon will be holding down the fort in Europe. Gagnon looks to get back into the swing of things with the downhill on Saturday followed by the super G on Sunday. Gagnon has had great finishes in Bansko throughout her career, with a 5th place in the alpine combined on this course in 2015. 

The entire Canadian Alpine Ski Team looks to build on momentum they have built kicking off 2020 with some great results. 

How to watch: 

January 25, 2020

3:45 a.m. EST / 1:45 a.m. MST – Women’s Downhill Bansko - Stream it live: cbcsports.ca

5:50 a.m. EST / 3:50 a.m. MST – Men’s Downhill Kitzbühel - Stream it live: cbcsports.ca

3:00 p.m. EST / 1:00 p.m. MST – Men’s Downhill Kitzbühel - Watch it on CBC

For a full broadcast schedule, click here: http://alpinecanada.org/schedule

  • https://www.mackenzieinvestments.com/
  • http://www.hellyhansen.com/

© 2020 Alpine CanadaSite by They

Search Our Site

×