A weekend of firsts

A weekend of firsts

Photo Caption GEPA

Adaptability is the name of the game this season, and the upcoming races are proving to be no different as we roll into the heart of the World Cup season. 

Due to the ongoing escalation of COVID-19 in Wengen, SUI, the 91st International Lauberhorn Races have been canceled and moved to Kitzbühel, AUT. However, earlier this week the two slalom races scheduled for this weekend in Kitzbühel, were moved to Flachau, AUT at the request of the Austrian government and the Tirol provincial government to allow for more time to carry out the necessary tests ahead of next weekend’s speed races. At this time the rest of the races scheduled in Kitzbühel are set to go ahead as planned. 

Erik Read and Simon Fournier are ready to race despite all the changes. Erik, who has four top-15 finishes this season, will continue to challenge the leaders in back to back slalom races. 

The women have not been immune to the changes either. Earlier in January planned races in Maribor, SLO were moved to Kranjska Gora, SLO due to a lack of snow. Valérie Grenier will lead a young group of Canadians into two giant slaloms this weekend, where they look to make their mark. 

Valérie will be joined by Marina Vilanova of Ski Québec Alpin and Cassidy Gray of the University of Colorado. Both will be starting in their first World Cup races. 

Team Canada is ready to conquer the world stage, no matter where or when, and this weekend is no different. 

How to watch: 

Saturday, January 16th  
Men’s Slalom – Run 1 – Flachau
3:30 AM ET / 1:30 AM MT 

Women’s Giant Slalom – Run 1 – Kranjska Gora 
5:00 AM ET / 3:00 AM MT 

Men’s Slalom – Run 2 – Flachau
6:30 AM ET / 4:30 AM MT   

Women’s Giant Slalom – Run 2 – Kranjska Gora 
8:00 AM ET / 6:00 AM MT 

Women’s Giant Slalom - Kranjska Gora – Encore Presentation 
2:00 PM ET / 12:00 PM MT  

Men’s Slalom - Flachau – Encore Presentation 
4:00 PM ET / 2:00 PM MT  

Sunday, January 17th

Men’s Slalom - Flachau – Encore Presentation 
2:00 AM ET / 12:00 AM MT  

Women’s Giant Slalom – Run 1 – Kranjska Gora 
3:15 AM ET / 1:15 AM MT 

Men’s Slalom – Run 1 – Flachau
4:30 AM ET / 2:30 AM MT

Women’s Giant Slalom – Run 2 – Kranjska Gora 
6:15 AM ET / 4:15 AM MT

Men’s Slalom – Run 2 – Flachau
7:45 AM ET / 5:45 AM MT 

Full TV Schedule here

  • https://www.mackenzieinvestments.com/
  • http://www.hellyhansen.com/

© 2021 Alpine CanadaSite by They

Search Our Site

×