CANADA’S BEN THOMSEN 10TH AT AUDI FIS SKI WORLD CUP IN VAL GARDENA

CANADA’S BEN THOMSEN 10TH AT AUDI FIS SKI WORLD CUP IN VAL GARDENA

Photo Caption GEPA

Calgary, Alta. (Dec. 15, 2018) – Ben Thomsen, 31, followed up a 21st-place finish in the super-G on Friday by placing 10th in Saturday’s downhill in Val Gardena, Italy. 

Pushing out of the start gate wearing bib number 30, Thomsen laid down a high-speed, solid run from top to bottom and clocked in at 1:57.44 – 1.31 seconds behind the day’s leader, Aleksander Aamodt Kilde of Norway. Saturday’s top-10 is Thomsen’s best result on the Val Gardena track, and his seventh career top-10 result in World Cup downhill. 

“I am so stoked and very excited to see what I can do in the future,” said Thomsen from Val Gardena’s finish area. 

The Invermere, B.C., native also notched a 15th-place finish in World Cup downhill this season when it was hosted on Canadian snow at Lake Louise, Alb., in late November. His career-best finish in this event came in Feb. 2012 when he finished second in Sochi, Russia.

TOMORROW AND MONDAY: 

Where:  Alta Badia, ITA - Men

Sunday, Dec. 16, 2018
Men’s giant slalom 

10:00 a.m. CET / 4:00 a.m. EST – 1st run

1:00 p.m. CET / 7:00 a.m. EST – 2nd run

Monday, Dec. 17, 2018
Men’s parallel giant slalom

6:15 p.m. CET / 12:15 p.m. EST 

Athletes entries for Alta Badia’s World Cup

Erik Read, Calgary (AB)

Jack Crawford, Toronto (ON)

Phil Brown, Toronto (ON)

Trevor Philp, Calgary  (AB)

Follow Alpine Canada on social media to get the latest about our athletes and more: 

FacebookTwitter ,InstagramYoutubewww.alpinecanada.org

ABOUT ALPINE CANADA

Alpine Canada is the governing body for alpine, para-alpine and ski cross racing in Canada, as well as for Canadian ski coaches, providing education, certification, insurance and compliance with the coaching code of conduct. With the support of valued corporate partners and donors, along with the Government of Canada, Own the Podium, the Canadian Olympic Committee and the Coaching Association of Canada, Alpine Canada develops Olympic, Paralympic, World Championship and World Cup athletes to stimulate visibility, inspiration and growth in the ski community. In 2020, Alpine Canada will celebrate 100 years of rich tradition in competitive skiing in Canada.

  • http://www.audi.ca/
  • https://www.mackenzieinvestments.com/
  • https://solace.com/
  • http://www.hellyhansen.com/

© 2019 Alpine CanadaSite by They

Search Our Site

×