It’s beginning to look at a lot like Christmas…

It’s beginning to look at a lot like Christmas…

Photo Caption GEPA

Calgary, AB (December 19, 2019) – Coming off a career best finish by Laurence St-Germain (St. Ferréol-les-Neiges, QC) in the parallel slalom event at St. Moritz, Switzerland the Canadian Alpine Ski Team is ready for another great weekend of racing. 

The women’s team will be in Val d’Isère, France, competing in the downhill on Dec. 21, where Marie-Michèle Gagnon (Lac-Etchemin, QC), aims to build on her career best finish in the downhill at Lake Louise. On Dec. 22 the first alpine combined of the season will see Roni Remme (Collingwood, ON) try to better her career best 2nd place finish at Crans-Montana last season. Remme and Gagnon will be joined by Candace Crawford (Toronto, ON). 

Across the alps in Italy the men’s speed team will be in action at Val Gardena for the super-G and downhill. On Dec. 20 Dustin Cook (Ottawa, ON) looks to improve on his 6th place finish on the run in 2016. The next day Brodie Seger (North Vancouver, BC), who is coming off his career best 13th place finish in Beaver Creek, will look to keep the speed up. Seger and Cook will be joined by Jack Crawford (Toronto, ON) who won the Lake Louise NorAm downhill last week and Ben Thomsen (Invermere, BC). 

30 kilometers away the men’s tech team will be on the hill in Alta Badia, Italy beginning Dec. 22. Eric Read (Canmore, AB) who placed 13th here in 2017, is aiming to continue the fast skiing he started earlier in the season. Read will be joined by Trevor Philp (Calgary, AB) and Brodie Seger. The giant slalom will take place on Dec. 22 and the parallel giant slalom on Dec. 23. The parallel giant slalom will be an exciting challenge for the men, as a newer event, held under the lights in front of a nighttime crowd. 

After these races the teams will take a few days to celebrate the holidays before getting back to work! 

HOW TO WATCH

December 21, 2019 

4:30 a.m. EST / 2:30 a.m. MST – Women’s Downhill Val d’Isère - Stream it live: cbcsports.ca

8:45 a.m. EST / 6:45 a.m. MST – Men’s Downhill Val Gardena - Stream it live: cbcsports.ca

2:30 p.m. EST / 12:30 p.m. MST – Men’s Downhill Val Gardena - Watch it on CBC

December 22, 2019 

4:00 a.m. EST / 2:00 a.m. MST – Men’s Giant Slalom Run #1 Alta Badia - Stream it live: cbcsports.ca

7:00 a.m. EST / 5:00 a.m. MST – Men’s Giant Slalom Run #2 Alta Badia - Stream it live: cbcsports.ca

For a full broadcast schedule, click here: http://alpinecanada.org/schedule

  • https://www.mackenzieinvestments.com/
  • http://www.hellyhansen.com/

© 2020 Alpine CanadaSite by They

Search Our Site

×