It’s the final countdown

It’s the final countdown

Photo Caption GEPA

As an unprecedented World Cup season comes to a close, members of the Canadian Ski Teams still have one final challenge, the World Cup Finals.  Canada has strong representation from both our alpine and ski cross teams in Switzerland this year. 

To be eligible to compete at the World Cup Finals, members of the Canadian Alpine Ski Team had to be ranked in the top-25 in a given discipline. The Canadian contingent in Lenzerheide, SUI will be made up of six Canadians in six different disciplines. 

On the women’s speed side, Marie-Michèle Gagnon will hold it down for the Canadian women. Coming off a podium in the super-G in Garmisch earlier this season and with career-best downhill finishes, Mitch will compete in both the downhill on March 17 in which she is ranked 16th, and the super-G on March 18 in which she is ranked 11th. 

Mitch will be joined on the speed slope by Jack Crawford who will compete in the super-G on March 18. The young Canadian, who is ranked 24th in the discipline, had a sixth-place finish in the super-G in Kitzbuhel, AUT in January and looks to finish strong. 

The tech experts, who raced last weekend, will pivot their focus to the finals where seventh-ranked Laurence St-Germain and 15th ranked Erin Mielzynski will charge the slalom course on March 20. Laurence is coming off of two 11th place finishes in Sweden and is feeling good. 

For the men, Erik Read will carry the flag for Canada down the giant slalom track on March 20. Erik, who is ranked 19th in the giant slalom, started the season with two-top-10 results and looks to get back to the top of the results in Lenzerheide. 

On Sunday, March 21st, Valérie Grenier, who returned from injury this season, will charge in the women’s giant slalom. Val, who is ranked 24th in the discipline, had a slew of top-20 finishes in the giant slalom this season and is looking to compete against the best to close out the season. 

Over the mountain range, on the other side of Switzerland, the reigning Nations Cup-winning Canadian Ski Cross Team will be preparing for their final race of the season in Veysonnaz.  Led by Reece Howden, who has already secured the Crystal Globe, the team looks to finish strong in a season, with a mix of veterans and rookies ready to race. Qualification for women required a top-13 ranking and top-32 for men. Reece will be joined by Zoe Chore, Tiana Gairns, Hannah Schmidt, Chris Del Bosco, Kris Mahler and Jared Schmidt, who qualified as an alternate. 

In a season no one will soon forget the Canadian Ski Teams have been able to stand on the top-step, have personal best performances and make the country proud. The World Cup Finals will be one more opportunity to do all of that.

How to watch

Wednesday, March 17 
Women’s Downhill – Lenzerheide 
6:00 AM ET / 4 AM MT 

Saturday, March 20
Men’s Giant Slalom – 1st Run – Lenzerheide
4:30 AM ET / 2:30 AM MT 

Women’s Slalom – 1st Run -  Lenzerheide
5:30 AM ET / 3:30 AM MT 

Men’s Giant Slalom – 2nd Run – Lenzerheide
7:00 AM ET / 5:00 AM MT 

Women’s Slalom – 2nd Run – Lenzerheide
8:30 AM ET / 6:30 AM MT 

Men’s Giant Slalom – Lenzerheide *Encore Presentation 
1:00 PM ET / 11:00 AM MT 

Women’s Slalom –Lenzerheide *Encore Presentation
4:00 PM ET / 2:00 PM MT                                            

Men’s Giant Slalom – Lenzerheide *Encore Presentation 
1:30 AM ET / 11:30 PM MT 

Sunday, March 21 
Ski Cross – Veysonnaz 
9:15 AM ET / 7:15 AM MT 

Ski Cross – Veysonnaz *Encore Presentation
12:00 PM ET / 10:00 AM MT 

Full TV Schedule here

  • https://www.mackenzieinvestments.com/
  • http://www.hellyhansen.com/

© 2021 Alpine CanadaSite by They

Search Our Site

×