The gang’s back together again on the World Cup circuit!

The gang’s back together again on the World Cup circuit!

Photo Caption GEPA

Calgary, AB (February 12, 2020) –  Now that the women’s Canadian Alpine Ski Team is done racing the NorAm Cup in Collingwood, ON and the men’s speed team is coming off a small break, the athletes are ready to rock this weekend in Kranjska Gora, SLO and Saalbach, AUT. 

The men’s team had a busy month of races with three of the most historic races on the calendar. Cam Alexander (North Vancouver, BC) aims to keep himself and his Wolf Pack teammates in the points with the downhill on Thursday morning. The super-G on Friday is another opportunity for the team to continue to surprise the rest of the tour with their results. 

Coach John Kucera is excited to continue to watch his athletes take the tour by storm. “They have all shown they can perform at the NorAm level and they are all showing that they belong on the World Cup. It puts a lot of other nations on notice and they realize that something special is coming and it’s fun to be a part of that.” said Kucera. 

Alexander will be joined in Saalbach, AUT by Ben Thomsen (Invermere, BC), Brodie Seger (North Vancouver, BC), Jeff Read (Canmore, AB) and Jack Crawford (Toronto, ON). 

Over in Slovenia the women’s team is back from a stint in North America. After a 20th place finish in the slalom at Kranjska Gora, SLO in 2019 Roni Remme (Collingwood, ON) looks to lead the team in this weekend’s slalom and giant slalom races. 

Remme will be joined by Laurence St-Germain (St. Ferréol-les-Neiges, QC), Ali Nullmeyer (Toronto, ON) and Erin Mielzynski (Collingwood, ON) who hope to hit the ground running going into the last six weeks of the season. 

After this weekend the men’s team heads to Niigata Yuzawa Naeba, JPN for a tech series while the women will head to Crans Montana, SUI for a speed series. 

HOW TO WATCH

February 15, 2020 

4:00 a.m. EST / 2:00 a.m. MST – Women’s Giant Slalom 1st run Kranjska Gora - Stream it live: cbcsports.ca

7:00 a.m. EST / 5:00 a.m. MST – Women’s Giant Slalom 2nd run Kranjska Gora - Stream it live: cbcsports.ca

3:00 p.m. EST / 1:00 p.m. MST – Women’s Giant Slalom 2nd run Kranjska Gora - Watch it on CBC

February 16, 2020 

4:15 a.m. EST / 2:15 a.m. MST – Women’s Slalom 1st run Kranjska Gora - Stream it live: cbcsports.ca

7:45 a.m. EST / 5:45 a.m. MST – Women’s Slalom 2nd run Kranjska Gora - Stream it live: cbcsports.ca

12:00 p.m. EST / 10:00 a.m. MST – Women’s Slalom 2nd run Kranjska Gora - Watch it on CBC

For a full broadcast schedule, click here: http://alpinecanada.org/schedule                                   

###

For more information or media inquiries please contact:
Whitney Hunter I Manager of Communications 
whunter@alpinecanada.orgI 403-471-6032 

ABOUT ALPINE CANADA

Alpine Canada is the governing body for alpine, para-alpine and ski cross racing in Canada, as well as for Canadian ski coaches, providing education, certification, insurance and compliance with the coaching code of conduct. With the support of valued corporate partners and donors, along with the Government of Canada, Own the Podium, the Canadian Olympic Committee and the Coaching Association of Canada, Alpine Canada develops Olympic, Paralympic, World Championship and World Cup athletes to stimulate visibility, inspiration and growth in the ski community. In 2020, Alpine Canada celebrates 100 years of rich tradition in competitive skiing in Canada.

  • http://www.audi.ca/
  • https://www.mackenzieinvestments.com/
  • https://solace.com/
  • http://www.hellyhansen.com/

© 2020 Alpine CanadaSite by They

Search Our Site

×