The Superbowl Weekend of Ski Racing

The Superbowl Weekend of Ski Racing

Photo Caption GEPA

It’s been called the Superbowl of the ski world. The Canadian men’s speed team is heading into the most storied start gate of the season when they land in Kitzbühel, AUT. On Friday the men get their first shot at the downhill, which replaces the postponed race from Wengen last weekend. 

Last year Jeff Read finished the downhill in 33rd spot and he hopes to improve on that this weekend. The team gets another shot at the famous Hahnenkamm downhill on Saturday. On SG Sunday, last year’s 24th place finisher Jack Crawford will lead the team to the finish, which will be noticeably quieter this year without fans. Jeff and Jack will be joined by Broderick Thompson, who is returning to Kitzbühel for the first time since 2017 and Ben Thomsen. 

680 kilometers to the west Marie-Michèle Gagnon will carry the torch for Canada into the classic Crans Montana, SUI on the spectacular Mont-Lachaux. Mitch will get two shots at the downhill and a go at the super G, looking to better her 12th place finish on the super G course in 2017. 

For their first races back in 2021, the Canadian Ski Cross Team had their first go at the Idre Fjäll World Cup sprint course in SWE earlier this week, where Marielle Thompson skied to a silver medal on Wednesday, earning her 45th World Cup medal of her career. The team will get two more shots at the full length course on Saturday and Sunday. With Reece Howden, coming off the second World Cup win of his young career, and Marielle Thompson, who already has four podiums this season, they look to lead the Canadian Ski Cross Team back to the top.

Marielle, who won on this course in 2016 and 2017, will be joined in the women’s race by Courtney Hoffos, Hannah Schmidt, Tiana Gairns and Zoe Chore. On the men’s side, Reece will race alongside Brady Leman, who won here in 2017, Carson Cook, Chris Del Bosco, Jared Schmidt and Kris Mahler. The team looks to stand at the top of the podium as the ski cross season rolls on. 

Once the weekend of speed for alpine and ski cross is done it’s the tech experts time to throw down. Coming off of an amazing first weekend of World Cup racing Cassidy Gray will get a shot at the giant slalom in Kronpltaz, ITA on Tuesday, January 26. Cassidy will be joined by Valérie Grenier who is coming off of two-top-20 finishes in Kranjska Gora, SLO.  

Later that day, under the bright lights of Schladming, AUT the men’s tech team will get into the gate at one of the most famous slaloms of the season. Historically this is one of the loudest races of the tour, and this year it will no doubt look different without fans, who traditionally line the course, armoured with noise makers and nations flags. 

As the Canadian Ski Teams close out January they are looking towards World Championships and more exciting World Cup racing. Stay tuned!

How to watch: 

Friday, January 22  
Men’s Downhill – Kitzbuhel 
5:30 AM ET / 3:30 AM MT 

Saturday, January 23
Women’s Downhill – Crans Montana 
4:00 AM ET / 2:00 AM MT  

Men’s Downhill – Kitzbuhel 
5:30 AM ET / 3:30 AM MT

Ski Cross – Idre Fjall
7:00 AM ET / 5:00 AM MT 

Women’s Downhill – Crans Montana: Encore Presentation
1:00 PM ET / 11:00 AM MT 

Ski Cross – Idre Fjall: Encore Presentation
3:00 PM ET / 1:00 PM ET  

Men’s Downhill – Kitzbuhel: Encore Presentation
5:00 PM ET / 3:00 PM MT 

Sunday, January 24

Men’s Downhill – Kitzbuhel: Encore Presentation
2:30 AM ET / 12:30 AM MT 

Men’s Super G – Kitzbuhel 
4:20 AM ET / 2:20 AM MT 

Ski Cross – Idre Fjall 
6:00 AM ET / 4:00 AM MT 

Ski Cross – Idre Fjall: Encore Presentation
12:00 PM ET / 10:00 AM MT 

Tuesday, January 26 

Women’s Giant Slalom – Run 1 – Kronplatz 
4:30 AM ET / 2:30 AM MT 

Women’s Giant Slalom – Run 2 – Kronplatz 
7:30 AM ET / 5:30 AM MT 

Men’s Slalom – Run 1 – Schladming 
11:45 AM ET / 9:45 AM MT 

Men’s Slalom – Run 2 – Schladming 
2:45 PM ET / 12:45 PM MT 

Full TV Schedule here

  • https://www.mackenzieinvestments.com/
  • http://www.hellyhansen.com/

© 2021 Alpine CanadaSite by They

Search Our Site

×