THE WORLD CUP HEADS HOME TO THE BIRTHPLACE OF MODERN ALPINE SKIING

THE WORLD CUP HEADS HOME TO THE BIRTHPLACE OF MODERN ALPINE SKIING

Photo Caption GEPA

Calgary, Alta. (November 26, 2020) – After a longer than expected training period due to warm-weather race postponement, Trevor Philp (Calgary, AB) and Erik Read (Canmore, AB) are eager to head to Lech, AUT and challenge the best in the parallel giant slalom. 

Trevor and Erik have only competed in a handful of parallel giant slalom races in their careers. Trevor’s best result came in 26th last season in Chamonix, FRA while Erik’s best result came in 2017 in Alta Badia, ITA where he finished in 13th place. Both men aim to hit the ground running after an extended time off. 

“We are excited to get back to racing this week and Lech is a new venue for me. The slope looks really fun and I can’t wait to get in the start gate,” said Trevor. “It will be interesting with the Parallel format this year.”

Parallel giant slalom, the newest discipline to join the World Cup circuit is an exciting head-to-head contest. Qualification for the men will take place early on Friday morning. The top 16 qualifiers will then compete in a bracket with heats between competitors consisting of two runs. The two competitors change courses for the second run. The winner of the two runs moves on until only one athlete is left. Find out more about the rules here.

In an area known for fur coats, champagne, and royal visits, the Canadian Alpine Ski Team looks to stand out. 

Thursday, November 26: Women 
Qualification: 4:00 am ET / 2:00 am MT 
World Cup: 11:45 am ET / 9:45 am MT 

Friday, November 27: Men 
Qualification: 4:00 am ET / 2:00 am MT 
World Cup: 11:50 am ET / 9:50 am MT 

Follow along here

###

For more information or media inquiries please contact:
Whitney Hunter I Manager of Communications 
whunter@alpinecanada.org I 403-471-6032 

About Alpine Canada
Alpine Canada is the governing body for alpine, para-alpine, and ski cross racing in Canada, as well as for Canadian ski coaches, providing education, certification, insurance, and compliance with the coaching code of conduct. With the support of valued corporate partners and donors, along with the Government of Canada, Own the Podium, the Canadian Olympic Committee, and the Coaching Association of Canada, Alpine Canada develops Olympic, Paralympic, World Championship, and World Cup athletes to stimulate visibility, inspiration, and growth in the ski community. In 2020, Alpine Canada will celebrate 100 years of rich tradition in competitive skiing in Canada.

  • https://www.mackenzieinvestments.com/
  • http://www.hellyhansen.com/

© 2021 Alpine CanadaSite by They

Search Our Site

×