Alpine Canada is proud to recognize and celebrate Canadian ski racing performances and contributions over the past season through the Canadian Ski Racing Awards. The awards recognize accomplishments and contributions in and off the snow, made by members of the Canadian ski racing community.

“Every season the nominees for the Canadian Ski Racing Awards challenge the selection committee to determine the winners,” says Nigel Cooper, committee chair. “We are fortunate to have such wonderful, committed, and passionate people involved in Canadian ski racing. The truth is that all the nominees deserve accolades, and the winners become part of a very special group of recipients from over the years that our committee is very proud to name.”

“Congratulations to these great Canadians whose names are now etched in history as 2023 recipients. We also celebrate all the excellent nominees, and as well those who put names forward for consideration,” added committee chair, Cooper. “As a committee, Georgia, Lauren, Louis-Pierre, Max, and I are honoured to have played a small part as the Ski Racing Awards selection committee. We’re fans too!”

  • Alpine Athlete of the Year
  • Ski Cross Athlete of the Year
  • Para-Alpine Athlete of the Year
  • Minogue Award of Excellence

    Kiki Alexander (AB)

     The Minogue Award recognizes one emerging ACA athlete who demonstrates excellence in all aspects of their current athletic year. All athletes with three years or less as a member of the National or NextGen Team, are eligible candidates. The winner of the Minogue Award of Excellence receives a bursary of $10,000.

  • Coach of the Year - National Teams

    John Kucera (AB)

    Karin Harjo (US)

    "Thank you to ACA for believing in me and providing the amazing opportunity to lead such an incredible group of athletes and staff. That took a lot of courage and speaks volumes to the amazing organization that ACA is!! Leading the ACA women's team is an honor I will always cherish." - Karin Harjo

  • Coach of the Year - Provincial Teams

    Cam McKenzie (ON)

    Rachel Topping (ON)

  • Coach of the Year - Domestic Programs

    David McNeil (QC)

    Jennifer Clarridge (AB)

  • Volunteer of the Year

    Heather Keith (SK)

    Comments from Heather Sten, Saskatchewan Alpine Program Director.

    Heather Keith's dedication to Ski Racing in Saskatchewan is truly admirable.  She has continued to volunteer at Nancy Greene Races, long after her daughter moved to the race team, and then onto FIS. This sharing of her time reflects her kind and selfless personality. Her unwavering commitment to our Sask Alpine Social Media pages has garnered her this well-deserved National recognition which will have her sporting her trademark ear to ear grin for years to come.

  • Nancy Greene Builder Award

    Jurg Gfeller (ON)

    Comments from Nigel Cooper:

    Jurg Gfeller has been a staple of the Collingwood ski scene for 50 years. A member of the famed Ernie McCulloch ski school at Blue Mountain in the 70s, Canadian Alpine Ski Team Coach though the 1984 Sarajevo Winter Olympics and Co-Founder of the National Ski Academy (NSA) with Henry Haiduk and Dan Hadley in the 80’s.

    For over 35 years since as the heart and soul of the NSA, Jurg’s impact on almost 1,000 student athletes and many coaches at Canada’s only residential ski racing academy is unparalleled. His total commitment to the dream has built a legacy of excellence in bringing ski racing and school under one roof. 

    In retirement, there is no rest for The Big Cheese. Jurg is back to his roots coaching at Georgian Peaks because he knows better than anyone that “you snooze, you lose”.  Truly a “builder” of ski racing in Canada.

    Additional comment on Jurg from Graydon Oldfield, National Ski Academy Alumni (‘87-’91), First National Ski Academy Graduate to the Canadian Ski Team and first World Cup Points for NSA – Canadian Ski Team Alumni

    In the worldwide realm of Alpine Ski Racing, there are those who stand out as exceptional leaders, mentors, and motivators. They inspire their athletes to greatness, instilling in them the belief that they can achieve anything they set their minds to. This tribute is dedicated to one such remarkable coach and builder whose impact transcends the boundaries of the ski hill. Through his unwavering dedication, support and most importantly his profound vision, Jurg Gfeller has shaped us not only as athletes but also all those he who surrounded him throughout this incredible journey.   There is no one more deserving of this award then the one they call “The Big Cheese”. I am so proud and grateful to have been a small part of this journey.

  • Sam Ousher Switzer Charitable Foundation

    Tristan Rodgers (ON) 

    Thanks to the generous support of the Sam Ousher Switzer Charitable Foundation; the Foundation’s goal is to improve the quality of lives of Calgarians and Albertans, in this case through access to advanced education. The recipient of the award receives $5,000 to help cover tuition costs.


© 2024 Alpine CanadaSite by They

Search Our Site